Goethe’s Faust

Faust EN

I went to the Municipal Theater of Piraeus yesterday and saw Goethe’s Faust, directed by Katerina Evangelatou. I thought I’d share my opinion with you, in case someone is considering going too.

First of all, I have not read the original and I’m vaguely familiar with the plot. Luckily, my friend that was with me had already read it and she would reassure me every time I instinctively found something odd that indeed the original was altered.

I understand the directors’ need to interpret classic plays in a more modern way, but I can not say I agree. These texts became classic for a reason: they describe eternal values relating to all humanity that we can not and should not modernize. The lack of respect towards the original combined with cheap sexual interpretations (really, is this some kind of trend? I got the same feeling seeing Ionesco’s Lesson last year) created a play that had absolutely nothing to tell.

On the bright side, I found the rhythm intense, the set designing interesting and the acting not so bad. Unfortunately the direction was quite shallow and it’s a pity because I saw William’s Glass Menagerie by miss Evangelatou in 2011 and I was impressed.

A piece of advice: If you do go see the play, book your tickets as early as possible and avoid by any means the 2nd or 3rd balcony, you will have zero visibility.

Leave a Reply

